Maryland  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
10/29/04, 1:03 pm

Legal Question


Fair Trade Secrets Act

I was recently fired ''for cause'' (false allegations) after 10 years of service for what I believe to be political reasons. I currently have in my possession some computer equipment that contains information the company would like back - and may possibly be considered trade secrets. At the time of my firing, I inquired whether I should bring anything with me. I was told no, and was escorted out without anyone asking me for this computer equipment. They have since called me asking for it back.

What are my legal obligations? Must I return the equipment? I have signed no paperwork regarding the equipment, I had no employment contract, and no non-compete agreement.

What is my exposure if I fail to return this equipment?

Thank you very much for any help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search