Maryland | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Trademark statute of limitations
I'm a member of a musical group in Maryland. We've discovered that the name we operate under (locally) has been used by another group in California. The CA group has released recordings in their locality, but not nationally, as far as I can tell, nor does it come up when I search the USPTO database. Their website states that they disbanded in 1981. Are we legally able to (locally) use the name, and also trademark it (for national use) without the CA group having a legal claim to it?


