Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
I was just denied a position because the prospective employer checked my references with a previous employer and he did not speak to my supervisor but to a former co-worker which did not like me. The former co-worker took it upon themselves to speak negatively about me, my attitude, my performance, and how I get along with others which they had no authority to do especially when references are meant to verify employment dates and salaries. What can I do in this situation to protect myself from this happening again because the supervisor would give me a stellar reference.


