Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
Felony arrest
Can I be terminated from my job because of a felony arrest? I have not been convicted. Should I inform my employer of the arrest?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: LAUREL ANCHORS |
Re: Felony arrest The emplyer may have the right to terminate you-depending on several factors: if your arrest had something to do with work, if the there is a manual or contract that gives you a specific answer to this question. In additio, most employment is "at will". That means that the employer can terminate the employee for any reason or no reason as long as the termination is not for a statutorily or constitutional protected reason: age,gender race etc, or retaliation for engaging in a protected actiivity (including whistle blowing). Being indicted or arrested is not one of the protections extended to employees. In summary, under most usual circumstances, they can fire an employee forbeing arrested |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Wilks Law
Washington, Dc And, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-16
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


