Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
Financial Favoritism in the Work place
March 03 I accepted a leasing position with the terms of $12 per hour plus 20% apartment discount for living on property. When I started my 20% apt. discount offsetted my hourly rate leaving me without a true discount. My manager kept blowing me off about the matter. In July 03 a new leasing consultant started and she received her hourly rate plus an apt. discount. As a result I spoke with the regional manager in October in reference to this matter, she agreed with me that I was not getting the 20% discount. she said she could not go back to the owners and tell them they were going to make less on their return especially after the property missed their NOI. Several issues of employee and resident unprofessional practices by the property manager were discussed with the regional manager which at that moment excuses were made and not addressed. This sitution is not fair or ethical but is it legal? Is my employer legally bound to comply with our agreement? Please help!


