Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
full disclosure and company provided legal rep
My husband was hired by a company which did not give him a clear picture of their situation. They implied that the current manager was the problem; she wasn't the whole problem. Only after he began working there did he discover the real situation. Were they obligated in any way to clearly and completely outline the situation in which he would be working?
Also, after terminating several employees (all related to each other AND related to the terminated former manager) for various reasons, my husband was falsely accused of hitting one of the employees (a minor). We know this is merely retaliation; it never happened. When we went to court for the hearing, however, the lawyer provided by his employer insisted that all charges should be dismissed because the minor's mother filed the charges and signed the complaint. When the judge disagreed, the lawyer told the judge that he was wrong. Needless to say, we are less than impressed with the lawyer's approach and personality. The company refuses to provide other counsel (wouldn't state whether or not a retainer had been signed). Is he obligated to use this lawyer? Any information would be greatly appreciated!


