Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
Can I hold management responsible for negligence
Can I hold management responsible for not telling me I was violating a company policy that resulted in my termination, when management knew or should have known I was violating this policy?
My termination offense: Drinking coffee without paying for it… for one full year.
When first employed in a grocery store, as an overnight shift worker, night stock crewmembers helped themselves to the leftover coffee in the Deli coffee dispenser. (after store was closed for the day) On the second or third night there was no coffee available and I was told by the Produce Dept. Manager, that it was permissible to make coffee to drink during the shift. This dept. mgr. showed me where the coffee was and how to make it, so I did make coffee and myself, and other members of the shift drank the coffee during our shifts. I drank this coffee in front of, and frequently in the company of store management. I did this for a year. No one ever told me I was violating company policy regarding paying for food & beverage purchases. I thought the dept. mgrs. permission to make the coffee meant it was excepted from the policy. Company Loss Prevention determined that at the rate of 4 to 6 cups per week, I had ''stolen'' $277 worth of coffee and I was fired.


