Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
3/17/10, 4:03 pm

Legal Question


Hello. I have recently applied for a job at a local restaurant. I am 18 years old and both of my parents are chefs who, up until last year, owned a restaurant themselves. I went in for an interview and was told by the manager that I was perfect for the job and she really thought I was a good fit for the business. She also said she just had to run it by her boss before i got hired.

Well, a week went by and I never heard back from them so I gave them a call. I asked if I got the job and I was told that they could not hire me due to the fact that my parents owned a restaurant (I also want to add that when my parents restaurant was open it was still 60 miles away from where i applied).

My Question: Is refusing to hire me because of my father considered discrimination? He no longer ownes a restaurant (not that I think it should make a difference), and i think this is an example of refusing to hire a specific class/category of people. Any input is appreciated!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search