Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
Unauthorized Deductions from PayCheck
After enrolling my children in an After School Martial Arts program, I became employed by the school. Payment for the children is handled through a billing company, and there was a time when I fell behind in payments. The owner stated that I could do additional tasks to work off the past due amount. I have resigned and the owner kept my last paycheck without my permission and applied it to the balance owed on the contract. Can he do this?


