Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/18/04, 7:11 pm

Legal Question


Unlawful layoff

Maryland is an ''at will'' employment state, which means that an employer can fire you without reason. Does that also mean that you can be laid off for ''your position is being eliminated'' and then within 3 months they give someone else your supervisory responsibility? That does not seem ethical. I am a 45 year old woman; do I have a discriminatory case for age/sex? Being laid off is different that being fired. If I was fired for nonperformance then I would understand, but that is not what occurred. Any suggestions?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search