Maryland | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
Dating clients
Is it unethical/illigal for lawyers in Md. to date their clients
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Press |
Re: Dating clients It's not a criminal offense ("illegal"), but it can be unethical (subject to professional discipline) under certain circumstances. It would to a near certainty be unethical in the divorce context, as it is a clear conflict of interest. At the other end of the spectrum would be a civil matter where the personal relationship pre-dates the attorney-client relationship (i.e., if a lawyer's boyfriend gets sued, the lawyer can represent him). In other words, the answer is... it depends. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Search Questions and Answers


