Maryland  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
2/20/08, 12:36 pm

Legal Question


Laywer malpractice?

I retained an attorney to represent me in a child name change case. The attorney did not file the paper work I paid for them to do and the name change was granted.

I have now for the past year been paying this attorney to litigate this case and have the name changed back, which should never have happened in the first place if they would have filed the papers when I retained them.

I have now spent 3 times what was originally quoted as a result of this attorneys error and they now want more fees to complete the case.

Do I have any options other than continue to pay fees for this attorneys mistake?

The original fee of $2500 I could afford but now I have spent $8000 and they are requesting $5000 more. Please help!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search