Maryland | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Legal malpractice in Maryland
We (siblings & I) have a pending legal malpractice case in Maryland. Our present attorney had asked the insurance carrier for the gross amount plus interests that we can legally prove is owed to us. Our attorney has now come back to us with an offer of half the amount and says that we cannot sue for anymore than the net amount (net = what we would have gotten less the original attornies 1/3) and then we would have to pay the new attorney 1/3 of the new offer. Our position is that we should not be paying the original attorney (whom we are sueing) anything and we certainly should have to continue getting less and less because of someone elses mistake. What is the statute regarding recovery on legal malpractice. Thank you.


