Maryland | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
veterinarian malpractice
what recourse is there if a veterinarian kills your family pet? and what actions can be taken against them?
Can you sue? Also where do you go to find a lawyer who will take upon such a suit!
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: veterinarian malpractice Professional malpractice would involve showing a breach of a duty of care that proximately caused injury. Presuming that you can show this, you must also show damages. This is where your difficulty will most like be as pertains to a pet. The law in Maryland treats pets simply as "chattel" (that is as "things"). They are not treated as "people". Thus, the only damages that are available generally in such circumstances would be to recover the market value of the animal. Since the market value of most pets is relatively small (even the best show dogs etc have relatively little actual market value -- perhaps a few thousand dollars in the best case), damages likely be relatively limited. Thus, most attys would not take such a case on a contingency basis, but would want to be paid on an hourly basis. If that is put together with the fact that a person would also need to hire another vet as an expert witness in order to prevail, the result is that a vet malpractice case as relates to a family pet is most likely not economically viable. Occaisionally, such cases might make sense with valuable stud horses etc, but probably very hard to make the economics work for a family pet.
If nonetheless you are interested in pursing such on an hourly basis, I would be happy to chat with you about finding an appropriate attorney.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


