Maryland  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
5/15/04, 1:37 am

Legal Question


surprise splenectomy

i had surgery for esophageal cancer in jan 2003. since then i have had several tests done, both in the hospital and at other medical facilities. everyone examining my results kept mentioning my splenectomy. i kept saying i didnt have one, and they kept saying i did. my husband and me were never told this was done or authorized this procedure. my oncologist told me he would find out from my surgeon wether he removed it or not, but everytime we ask him, he says he forgot. i have had several bad infections that i feel i wouldnt have had if my spleen was still intact and performing like it should. isnt my surgeon responsible for not telling me it was removed?

i look forward to receiving your answers. thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search