Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
financial arrangements when case is on a contingency basis..
I have a lawsuit against the Catholic church because I was the organist there for 30 years (non-consecutive) and I was fired after I told the pastor that I had been sexually abused there as a child for over a five year period - I was a child prodigy organist and started working there at age 11 and was abused by the choir director for 5 years. I have had two lawyers, one to write the complaint) (for $1500.00) and another to file it later on. I ended up filing it pro se
and I hired another lawyer on a contingency basis. We didn't sign a contract and she recently won in Maryland Appeals Court for the second time - the church an no longer use the ministerial exeption as a loophole to avoid lawsuits from organists. Now, four years later, she wants me to sign a contract - I hired her on a contingency basis and now she has alot of other financial demands. , including hiring her as my exclusive lawyer, and paying he $175.00/hr
for work done if there is no settlement and/or judgment against the Catholic church. Just what am I obligated to pay for in the state of Maryland. Please help.
We have reached a possible settlement point and the church is stalling my lawyer. She sent me the contract by e-mail totally by surprise 6/23/07.


