Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Lawyers Fees
Is a Lawyer that is representing you permitted to take a percentage from your lost wages he has recovered for you.
Thank you
Lawyers Fees
Is a Lawyer that is representing you permitted to take a percentage from your lost wages he has recovered for you.
Thank you
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
Re: Lawyers Fees Your question was quite vague and therefore difficult to answer. If you hired a lawyer on what we call a contingency fee agreement to bring a claim against someone for an injury you suffered due to negligence, such as in an auto accident, the typical such agreement provides that your fee is a portion of whatever amount the lawyer obtains for you from the other party. Typically it is 1/3 of the total amount but it might be more or less depending on what the circumstances of your case are. Since part of your settlement could be based on earnings loss, the lawyer's fee would in effect include a part of this loss, and that is perfectly appopriate.
If your scenario was not as described above, I suggest you resubmit your question with more details in order to get a more directed answer. |
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Lawyers Fees Presuming that you retained the lawyer on a contingency basis (i.e. where the lawyer takes a percentage of the total recovery) then this is perfectly appropriate.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
► Hit by Uninsured/Unregistered in Maryland On 2/17/01 while visiting my mother in...
► Trip and fall case-broken arm-lost case tripped over wire affixed to aisle 3'' from...
► Dog-bite/trained dog bite I am buying a trained personal protection dog I want to...
► Liability issues to protect against personal injury from rented bikes and canoes I...
► Lying Lawyer I was in an accident in May 2000. Hit by a Government employee in a...
► On a Parking Lot My grocery cart accidentally rolled about 12 feet into the back...
► For myself, how do I ask for compensation from the other parties insurance agent I...
More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press