Maryland  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/15/09, 6:00 pm

Legal Question


I slipped and fell on a wet bathroom floor at a Fairgrounds in Maryland. The floor had just been mopped, but there were no attendants present and no wrning signs. There was one witness in the bathroom. When I returned home (South Carolina) 6 days later I went to the doctor. X-rays revealed 3 broken ribs. I have talked to a lawyer who wants 40% and expenses to work with the insurance company. I have 2 questions: 1) Is 40% and expenses fair and normal? and 2) Approximately (ball park) how much could I expect to receive from the insurance company and is it worth hiring a lawyer versus negotiating with the insurance company myself?


question bubble
11/20/09, 6:37 pm

Legal Answer


I do not charge 40 percent for settlement without litigation. Typically a fee of 1/3 is charged for recoveries without litigation. I do reduce my fees below 1/3 in many instances.

Invariably hiring an attorney results in a settlement that is appropriate and the possibility of attaining such without an attorney is reduced. If you hire an attorney and fire him/her you may still be responsible for fees.

Contact me to discuss your case.

G. Joseph Holthaus III

Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus 2255 Daniels Road Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 10:39 am

Legal Answer


Typically the fee is 33% if the matter is settled before a lawsuit is filed, and 40% if settled after the suit is filed. You should shop around. I practiced this kind of law in Maryland before moving to Florida, so if you would like a referral please contact me. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search