Re: Vicarous Liability
A bouncer or security guard does NOT have the right
to "horse around" or "goof" with a partron and not be
subject to damages. Neither comedy or humor are part of the
job duties. Any damage that results to a patron is recoverable.
Whether a patron is contributorily negligent or has assummed a risk
by "fooling around" with a bouncer or security guard who is "goofing off" is a fact laiden inquiry.
Reasonable expectation of the bouncer or security guard's behavior is but one factor that MAY apply.
Where one holds a qualification in martial arts, one is held to a higher standard. Obviously, the complainable
matter should relate to the qualification and again this is a fact laiden inquiry.
If a bouncer or security guard is attempting to avoid liability for personal injury by defending with the patron assuming the risk or being contributorily negligent, you should contact an attorney.
I am available at (410) 799-9002 or leave a message.