Maryland | Real Estate Law
3/24/07, 12:41 pm
Legal Question
breaking a lease
Can I break my lease on an apartment if I buy a house.
breaking a lease
Can I break my lease on an apartment if I buy a house.
|
Read More Answered By: Carter Ferrington |
Re: breaking a lease Yes, but only if you work with your landlord to make him whole (such as finding a mutually agreeable substitute tenant and covering the wear and tear on the building caused by an unanticipated move-in and move-out of the building). |
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: breaking a lease You cannot force your landlord to let you out for free. howeverm you do have some pretty strong negotiating leverage. the law in both md and dc would rwequire the landlord to re-rent the premises even if you simply moved out. so, generally, a tenant's exposure might be a couple of month's woth of rent. with thay in mind most knowlegable landlords will work with you. jut remember that you'll have to pay something most likely as you ate tring to get out of a binding agreement. good luck and congratulations on your new housem |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3884
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
► Inherited property after marriage if wife inherits property after marriage, does...
► Sibling buyout my relative wants to buy out my share of real property should I have...
► Shared driveway We live on a shared drive with 6 other homeowners. There is a...
► Problem house hello my question is i purchase a new one years ago home having so...
► Divorce I'm being asked to sign over the deed to our property as a part of the...
► Neighbor's construction project unending Over 5 months ago my next-door neighbor...
► Forclosure can a bank start forclosure on a piece of commercial real estate after...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press