Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/09/10, 6:29 pm

Legal Question


In my divorce settlement my ex and I were to sell the marital home, pay off the mortgage and split the proceeds. The way the housing market has declined there is no way we are going to get what we owe on the mortgage. My ex wants to continue to pay the mortgage and stay in the home. I on the other hand want to move on without any more obligation to this home. The payments to the mortgage company have continued to be made without fault. Can I have the mortgage company remove my name from the mortgage loan if I sign the house over to my ex?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search