Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
the ex that keeps giving
I've been divorced for 35 years. My ex-husband just ''gave'' me a piece of property that has over $5000 of back taxes and HOA fees owed on it. I never knew we owned this. What can I do? The property is in VA.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: the ex that keeps giving This is not so much a legal issue on its face as it is a business issue. If the property is worth more than the total of the back taxes and the outstanding HOA fees, then it is indeed a gift. Contact the HOA and made a deal to start paying them, and contact the taxing authorities to see if they can make such a deal and to make sure that there are no tax sales pending (or just go ahead and pay the charges if the property is worth enough).
All things considered, you probably want to find a VA lawyer to evaluate any possibility that taking ownership of the property will subject you to liability for anything.
If it turns out that the property just isn't worth more than the various liabilities attached to it, then you can reject the gift (if it has already been deeded to you, you may need to file paperwork in the jurisdiction where the property is located). |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


