Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Housing Association Bill/Contract
Upon the purchase of our townhome, in a new development, we were also required to sign into a contract with the home owners association for the development. The association takes care of the basic maintanance of the common grounds of the development. Part of this maintanance is streetlights, which are located in the front of the development, where the single family homes are located. (Townhomes are located at the back.) When we phoned the association in regards to the fact we are paying for a service we are not receiving, but are expected to receive, we were told that because there were streetlights in other areas of the development, we were still responsible to pay our share. Keeping in mind that the extra cost of the townhome's common areas are not paid for by the single home owners, they are divided only amongst the townhome owners, we don't feel that we should have to pay the fee for streetlights which we have not received. Other townhome owners are feeling the same way. We have paid dues for last year, including the streetlight fees, and just received the new bill for 2000. Do we have a right to fight paying the portion of the bill for streetlights that we have yet to receive? Thank you for any response...


