Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/13/01, 10:50 pm

Legal Question


New Property Owner's Rights with regard to easements

Question: What recourse does a property owner have against A. Title Company B. Surveyor when easements are misrepresented at settlement?

History: Developer negligently placed an underground pipe outside of approved 15' easement (is caught by county) then receives approval for additional 24' easement. At settlement developer's title co. explicitly describes original 15' easement, but only references (under separate #)to mysterious liber/folio recorded agreement (found to be about additional 24' easement agreement between developer & county 6 yrs later). Surveyor only shows original 15' easement on certified plat. No usable yard left.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search