Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Real Estate
Girl friend was placed on title of house, but not on the loan. She has since vacated the property. Is there a way to remove her from the title without her signature?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Real Estate It will take some work to try to get the title all in your name. As a practical matter, once you put someone on a deed, unless there was fraud, mistake, duress or something like that, you can't just take the recipient off of the deed.
So, you will want to talk to an attorney about various ways to get the property back into your name entirely. You may find that you have to purchase it back.
You should absolutely consult with a real estate lawyer who knows how to litigate such cases because you may very well need to file suit (or at least threaten to do so) to create leverage to get her to reach an agreement with you.
I am happy to chat about your options == give me a call at your convenience. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


