Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/07/01, 11:24 pm

Legal Question


Recovering rent and security deposit after fire destroys residence

Our rented home was severly damaged by fire. It appears to the Fire Marshall that the cause was electrical in nature, although the area/room where it started had nothing in it. It appears that the fire started within the walls. In other words, we are not at fault. The fire occured today(2/7/01). We paid rent on 2/1/01. Are we entitled to the prorated rent and security deposit? Since the fire was apparently bad wiring or other not related to us, does the landlord hold any liability to us? Unfortunately we had no renter's insurance. Your help would be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search