Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/27/01, 2:20 pm

Legal Question


security deposit

I recently moved out of an apartment (owned by an individual rather than in a complex) on April 30, 2001. I was with the landlord when he did the walk through on May 4th or 5th and there were no problems or reasons for him to hold any of the security deposit. By MD law, I know he has up to 45 days to return the deposit, so I began calling him on June 18th because I had not received it yet. He didn't return my calls, or when he did he didn't leave a message (I have caller ID). I finally spoke with him yesterday, June 26, after he had told me to ''cool my jets'' only to find that he thought I moved out May 31st and that's why I hadn't gotten the deposit back yet. I told him I expect the check no later than Friday, but my friend is telling me that I should persue this in court to get additional money from him that I'm entitled to. Do I have sufficient legal ground to stand on even after I've told him I'd accept it if it were here by June 29th, and about how long would this be held up in court before I could collect?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search