Maryland  |  Securities Law

question bubble
10/29/10, 3:45 pm

Legal Question


Many people are interested in my company and what we are about to do and they want to be part of it. Can I use my membership certificates to raise capital for my business venture since you can have as many members to your L.L.C as you desire?

Example:

Each member is required to pay $50 to become a member and pay $50 per month membership dues (all of this is in the operating agreement) so lets say I had one thousand members, which would be $50,000 per month. If we wanted to apply for a commercial construction loan to build something for our business to grow, we could show that we could pay this loan back through our membership dues.

Would this work? I spoke to a bank about this and was told this could work if I could get the members. What do you think?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search