Maryland | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Sexual Harassment
I work at the National Security Agency and am getting of my 5-year security clearance updated. My investigator asked me whether anyone had ever filed a sexual harassment complaint against me or accused me of sexual harassment. I had no idea that that I had been accused or if a complaint had been filed – no one ever questioned me about it. However, now that it is in my security investigation file, I am at risk of losing my clearance and losing my job over a “rumor”. And it will also be on my permanent record and be a topic I will have to answer to every five years – provided I do not lose me clearance/job over it now.
I departed my company due to personality conflicts and I strongly feel that my company is trying everything they can to get back at me somehow.
A couple months after I left my company they accused me of spreading rumors that they were a racist company. After neither my current employer or myself responded to their accusation, they dropped it. Now, a few months later they are accusing me of sexual harassment. I am sure my company is just trying to jeopardize my career.
What are my rights? How can I find out if a complaint was filed against me? Can I sue them for slander, defamations, false accusation


