Maryland  |  Tax Law

question bubble
3/19/05, 6:03 pm

Legal Question


Dual State Taxation Inquiry

To whom it may concern:

I spent the first part of 2004 living in Florida exclusively. In February and March 2004, I maintained a residence in both Florida and Maryland. From March 2004 to December 2004, I lived exclusively in Maryland.

My question is:

For tax purposes, can I either claim Florida or Maryland as my home state for tax purposes during February and March 2004? Since Florida has no state income tax, can I claim a credit for the taxes that the state of Maryland took out during the period of February and March of 2004?

Thank you for your time in explaining this rather complicated legal taxation issue.

Thanks,

HW


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search