Legal Question in Tax Law in Maryland

Statute of Limitations

A tax lien was filed in 10/99 against "Joe," who, by mistake, neglected to pay his MD state taxes sometime between 1990 and 1992 (coincidentally, in 10/99 "Joe" threw away all his tax records that were 7+ years old). Moreover, "Joe" received no direct notice about the lien; he discovered it only after having been denied credit based on the lien and requesting a copy of his credit report. Does "Joe" have any legal defense(s) available, e.g. statute of limitations or notice? Thanks for your time & your help!

Asked on 2/13/00, 2:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bruce Lewis Bruce Lewis P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Statute of Limitations

If you never filed a tax return, the statute of limitations never ends!

Read more
5/02/00, 1:37 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now