Maryland  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 10:31 am

Legal Question


My 17 year old son received a speeding ticket. He went to court and was ordered by the judge to complete 100 community service hours within 120 days. I am having a heck of a time getting him to go. What kind of trouble would I be in (as the parent) if he blows off the sentance?


question bubble
11/21/09, 7:08 pm

Legal Answer


You would not be in trouble, unless you were causing him not to comply. Speeding is not jailable, but perhaps your son would be in contempt of court, if he does not follow the court's order. Contempt is jailable. However, whether it is pursued is a matter of how motivated the court is.

If a fine was suspended, or if probation before judgement were entered, then the fine might be imposed. There may also be points assessed by the MVA.

William Welch

William L. Welch, III Attorney 111 South Calvert Street, Suite 2700 Baltimore, MD 21202

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search