Maryland | Traffic Law
Legal Question
TERRY STOP question 2
I know there arent any set time limits on stops--pretty much as long is it takes to write up the tickets(during which time, the checks are being performed). But the reason 4 being pulled over was no front VA tag while driving in MD. Like i said, after 15min into the stop, K-9 arrives. Allegedly, my bro ends up fleeing w/in minutes, and later ditching car; leaving behind drugs, money, and weapons.
The Charges are: 1) poss w/ intent-narc; 2) Lrg Amt; 3) poss cocaine; 4-5) Dist w/ firearm; 6-7) poss firearms; 8-9) reg. firearm-illegal poss;10-11) firearm w/ felony.
Not anything about fleeing, not anything about front tag missing. No other traffic violations.
I've ridden along w/ these deputies many times. I know the procedure. I know about the profiling and stall ball tactics. I know that an out of state vehicle violation should take no more than 5-7min. my bro should have been releases well before the k-9 showed up... what can be done about this, if anything? can the evidence be suppressed on the grounds of an illegal/unjustified detention. can dispatch recordings from that night be summoned to help make the case?


