Maryland | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Long term care
Is there anyway to protect my assets from the state nursing homes other than expensive long term care insurance.
Long term care
Is there anyway to protect my assets from the state nursing homes other than expensive long term care insurance.
|
Read More Answered By: Lowell Wilson |
Re: Long term care That depends. If you (or the person on whose behalf you are inquiring) are healthy then there are some ways to protect your assets, but they require some advanced planning in order to work. You can gift some money to relatives, or you can create various forms of trusts to try to keep your money. The problem is that if you gift your money you create a 3 year "look back period." What that means is that if you were to apply for medicaid assistance during taht period you would be disqualified for the period of time you could have paid for on your own had you not transferred that money. If you create a trust you create a 60 month look back period.
Obviously none of this is simple, and you should get help if you want to do any of it, but there are ways to protect at least some of your assets.
Of course, long term care insurance has its advantages, too. I know that it can be expensive, but if you can find it at an affordable price you can avoid the need to worry about look back periods and such by simply cashing in on the insurance when the time comes. Naturally, the younger you are when you apply the cheaper long term care insurance is...
Hope that helps... |
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce Lewis |
Re: Long term care Sure! Just give ev. away! ex..to your kids!! Just do so at least 5 years before you apply for Medicare/Medicaid!! Otherwise, you could get hit with Medicare/Medicaid fraud and go to jail!! Be Careful!! I do estate planning in Bethesda, MD... |
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
► Right of refusal cocerning property In my grandfathers will he stated that my uncle,...
► Intestate Mom and beneficiary accounts Mom died intestate (CA)after a recurrence of...
► Estates a car was promised to an grandchild, but was totled in a crash the insurance...
► Will vs. Living Trust I've been told that a living trust is better than a will for a...
► Uniformed Gift to Minors Act I am trying to find the legal age at which a minor of a...
► Uniform Gift to Minors Act In the State of Maryland, what is the age limit at which...
► Spouse vs. divorced spouse rights My husband of 15 years died leaving only...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press