Re: When is a Will Legal?
A caveat contest needs to be filed prior to probate of the will. Basically, this means that
you need to file a formal challenge to the validity of the will and/or some of its provisions. Prior to the
filing of a caveat, the attorney who is probating the will can be contacted. In some cases agreements can be reached
with disputed matters without having to file in court; however, these agreements still need to pass through probate.
Factual matters will need to be developed. The fact that legal services were misrepresented to your grandmother is part of the overall matter.
Other fact specific matters may require inquiry and development such as those relating to undue influence, her capacity, the form and suitability of the language in the will (i.e., this is called the four corners test), whether the
will was properly effected (i.e., independent witnesses, etc.), and other matters. You should contact an attorney to pursue the matter.
All this being said, it is your father who has standing, that is a legal basis upon which to bring a suit. Unless you could show that your grandmother would have left property to you, you do not have standing to caveat the will.
Obviously you would have an interest in the property that your father owns, but with respect to property that could have been your father's, you do not have standing with an allegation of such derivative title.
Please be advised that timeliness is important, not only from a legal perspective but due to the age and health of your father.
Preparing a will in Maryland is the practice of law. In order to practice law, one must be duly licensed. Among other things, this includes passing the bar.
The name of the person who represented himself as an attorney should be referred along with a complaint to the Attorney Greivance Committee of the Maryland Board of Law Examiners, or contact the
Maryland State Bar Association at (410) 686-7878 for further assistance. Your inquiry should be based on "filing a complaint for the unauthorized practice of law." You should take action to report this culprit so that
he cannot continue perpetrating problems for others.
I am available if you should require legal assistance.
G. Joseph Holthaus III
(410) 799-9002