Maryland  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
1/19/08, 7:25 pm

Legal Question


Denied Benefits

I have a friend who was injured by a sheet of plywood that fell from the roof of a building under construction. His hard hat fell off just prior to getting hit. When he returned to a standing position after retrieving his hat, the plywood hit him. He was denied benefits because his hard hat was not on his head. He said the wind was high enough to blow his hard hat off. Seems to a reasonable person, no one should even be putting plywood on a roof in those winds. A third party suit may develop from this, however, just getting workman's Compensation so he can eat would be a big help.

In 1992, my left foot was crushed and I had to deal with WC for five years. WC people are the most despicable people I have ever met. They aren't even human as far as I'm concerned.

Thanks -Bob


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search