Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/14/05, 11:38 am

Legal Question


assessments

I purchased a condo a while ago. I found out the front steps (masonry) had been replaced approximately two months before I even viewed the property. The work done was not covered by the regular condo ass. fees and an add'l $1200 was now being asked of me. When the work was done the previous owner occupied the property, he never disclosed that this $$ was still due. Do I have the right to ask the previous owner to pay this assessment? How long do I have to take this matter to court? What are my legal rights? I got in touch with the realtor that found this condo for me and she says the previous owner didn't know that there would be an assesment for the work. Does ignorance free this guy from any liability here?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search