Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Elderly Real Estate Rights
My son bought my elderly Mom's house 2 years ago. He paid her $ 120,000. The agreement was that she live there. He has since broken his engagement to be married and without his future spouses income it has become a struggle for him. He has asked her for help but she refuses and also abuses all the utilities with a purpose. She is 83 years old and has been very veribally abusive to him. When the agreement was made, they both used her lawyer, my son did not have a lawyer. My mom's lawyer is also her executor of her estate. We don't know what to believe, but we were told he is stuck with this terrible home situation by law. My son is 32 years old and is living a hell with this woman. Too many awful things to explain, but he cannot live under these conditions any longer. By law is there anything he can do to get out of this agreement? Also is it legal for him to sell the house if he chooses? We really need help with this.


