Massachusetts | Disability Law
Legal Question
Disabled and medical discrimination
I posted this question under the med malpractice but it may belong here. A relative went to a podiatrist because he is a diabetic. After devulging he also had a life threatening illness, the doc told him that he didn't need to come back to him and his wife could take care of his feet. He got an infection in his foot so bad that he had to be admitted to the hospital for 4 days and his fever was so high that he was hallucinating. The hospital doc couldn't believe such a thing was said to him by the podiatrist. Since my last post he now has been advised by his primary doc that he has to see a vascular doc and a dentist for the infection. He now has an infection throughout his body which is on meds for. His family feels the podiatrist was not only negligent but also discriminated against him because of his other serious illness and he didn't want to treat him because of it. What recourse does he have if any? Do you recommend he file suit against this doctor?


