Massachusetts | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Winning a false ticket appeal?
I got into an accident last summer. While switching into the left lane, the car in front of me was cut off, slammed the breaks on, and while i was still mid-lane, i rear ended them. The cop came a little while later to fill out the accident report, he said wrote me a ticket, and while he was doing this said ''well, its the first of the month, ticket quotas'' and smiled. He than wrote me a ticket for following to closely. I was NOT following to closely, I was just mid-lane at a very bad time.
My question is, how do I win this ticket appeal? I have a court date scheduled, already. Can the cop even write a ticket to me if he didnt see the accident? He was called later, and I'm fairly certain the person I hit never said I was tailgating. And in addition to this all, the cop that wrote the ticket wrote it in another officers name. Does this matter? When I went to the police station I spoke with the cop whos name was on the ticket a few days later, he didn't remeber writing it, than told me that another officer responded to the call. But the ticket was still written in his name, will this help me at all?
Thank you for your help


