Massachusetts | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
My brother recently filed for bankruptcy. He has co-ownership of a family cabin in the woods of NH. Will I ,as the co- owner, have to pay his value of the property in order for it to stay in the family? And who determines the value of his share?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Barry Levine |
Assuming your brother filed a chapter 7 (you don't mention which chapter he filed under), the Chapter 7 Trustee would typically only be to happy to sell his equity back to either your brother or you. There is a process involved with this. It requires a notice of the intended sale to be sent to all of your brother's creditors. The notice also solicits counter-offers. In my almost 30 years experience in representing debtors, if your brother or you are the potential purchasers of the equity, a third party stepping in to purchase your brother's interest is unlikely. However, if you or your brother are unable to come to an agreement with his Chapter 7 Trustee, your brother's interest in the property could be sold on the open market. In some instances, it could be possible for the trustee to sell a non-debtor's interest, too. It does not usually get to that point. As to the determination of value, that is usually done by using a third-party appraiser. Barry R. Levine |
Top Attorneys in MA
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of David Baker
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 219
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-04
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Office of Robert R. Trant
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-03
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Law Office of Barry R. Levine
Beverly, MA
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


