Massachusetts | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I am having trouble paying my bills and collectors are calling can I get arrested?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Daniel Gindes |
Hi:
I am really sorry to hear about your financial problems, especially if you are worrying about arrest, which I know is extremely stressful. Here is the answer- you can never be arrested for having debt. The only times "arrest" takes place is when or if you commit contempt of court by failing to appear in court after a valid court order to do so. Even then, it is not really a criminal arrest, and usually just by showing up the contempt is lifted.
We don't need to get that far however. Just keep straight any court dates you have, and attend court whether or not you can pay. That way you will never be in contempt. Alternatively you could consider bankruptcy- which is what I do, in order to get rid of most any judgments and/or debts you have for good.
By the way- if any debt collector tells you he/she is going to have you arrested, contact a good lawyer because this alone gives you a claim for damages against that collector.
Dan Gindes |
Top Attorneys in MA
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of David Baker
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 219
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-04
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Office of Robert R. Trant
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-03
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Law Office of Barry R. Levine
Beverly, MA
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


