Massachusetts | Business Law
Legal Question
Buyer Broker Agreement
An unmarried couple sign a buyer broker agreement in July 2008 good for 6 months. The goal to purchase a home together. One of the parties is unable to get financing and the buyer broker essentially stops any effort to search for houses. In November one of these parties purchases a home in her name only direct from a builder. In January the broker seeks $15K commission on the purchase without having involvement in the purchase. Is the agreement still in effect when the principals on the original agreement have changed.


