Massachusetts | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
civil case
what does ''requesting that Application for Final Judgement pursuant to Mass.R.Civ.P. Rule 33 recently filed be withdrawn mean
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
Re: civil case Whoever filed the application for final judgment under rule 33 did so because the other party did not answer written interrogatories on time. Rule 33 provides for the entry of judgment against the party who failed to provide interrogatory answers within the time permitted.
However, if interrogatory answers are served on the party who requested them within a period of time following the application for final judgment, the application for judgment is lifted/withdrawn, and the answering party can proceed along in the case without any adverse effect.
By withdrawing the request for final judgment, the party making the request has probably received interrogatory answers before the rule 33 deadline for final judgment ran, or has simply agreed to lift the judgment mechanism according to an agreement with the opposing attorney. The case will probably now proceed in the normal course, as if the application had never been made. No harm, no foul. |
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
J. Whitfield Larrabee
Brookline, MA
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Law Office of Maurice LaRiviere, Jr.
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Law Offices of Christopher F. Earley
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Maurice LaRiviere Jr
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 77
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-13
Law Office of Evan Fray-Witzer
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-18
Search Questions and Answers


