Massachusetts | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Dismissal of children from a vocational school
Our 2 boys (13 and 11) have been part of a community Sunday vocational school for 5 years. My wife was a teacher there. She had voiced some opinion over email to other staff (somewhat forcefully) about how the school should improve and this has upset some individuals, especially the acting principal. About 6 months back, the school dismissed her, but in the same email notfication. also expelled our boys from attending school. The boys have an excellent record and are well loved. Since then, we have tried to make them understand that action against a parent cannot mean a dismissal of the children from school. The principal is adamant and will not even talk to us, even though several school parents have requested her to take the kids back. This has upset the whole family tremendously. We want the boys to go back and are considering legal notification to the school. My wife has stated she is willing to dissociate from the school as long as the boys can continue their education. My question is (a) whether its lawful for a school to expel children in good standing based on issues with one parent, (b) what possible action can we take to compel the school to repeal its dismissal action against the boys. Thanks


