Massachusetts  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
7/14/08, 6:04 pm

Legal Question


Neighbors

There are 2 neighbors who live behind me. We have owned the house since 1964.

1. 1 person has a dead tree by termites which has fallen on my car previously. I don't want it to fall on my new car or my house. I asked him to remove it and he doesn't want to spend money. He is waiting for it to fall and his insurance will cover it. Can Ido anything to make him remove it?

2. Other neighbor moved in 5 years ago. Claimed he had land surveyed and some of the land I have he says belongs to him. Yesterday, he removed a fence on my property that my father put up and started digging in my yard. I asked what he was doing and he said putting up a fence. I asked to see a copy of the survey. He kept on digging. I asked to remove himself from my property or I would call the police which I did. It stopped him temporarily. If some of it does belong to him, isn't there a law in MA. that says if you have had it for 20 years it is yours? Homestead, etc?

He has lived there 5 years and that is the way we purchased the property.

What rights do I have?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search