Massachusetts | Technology Law
Legal Question
If I have a blog with the ability for anonymous comments, am I at risk if someone posts a download link to content that is copyright protected (ie a music album)?
For example: What about sites like http://music.is-amazing.com where they state in their Privacy Policy that they are not responsible for comments made by their "anonymous" visitors? All of their posts have a comment with a link to album downloads that are copyright protected. Is the blog owner / author not legally responsible to remove content posted by visitors they know is a copyright infringement? This seems very illegal, but I am no expert. Is their Privacy Policy and About page blurb enough to keep them safe from legal troubles?
Thanks for any input, links to resources, or thoughts on the subject.
/Ashley


