Massachusetts  |  Construction Law

question bubble
2/04/09, 9:07 pm

Legal Question


contractor liability

i am a retired ceramic tile contractor. in 1999 i contracted [verball contract only] to install ceramic tile in a shower unit in a private home. the prime contractor recently informed me that the job has failed to hold water and damaged rooms under the shower. he also informed me that he had another tile contractor make ''repairs'' a few years after my initial install.

several years later the job failed again. this time he had the same contractor remove tile up to 24 inches from the floor and the floor and curb as well.

i would assume that after a second repair that the unit is not leaking.

my question is this, seeing that the prime contractor contracted with a new tile contractor, does that ''erase'' my liability to make good on any repairs either for the first repair or the second?

what if any is the statue of limitations?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search