Massachusetts | Construction Law
Legal Question
Lien on house?
I recently built a new house and the contractor ran into financial problems. I paid him all the money that we agreed to but ultimately he did not pay a bunch of the sub-contractors. We have been living in the house for 7 months now and there is a few thousand dollars worth of stuff that I will need to complete on my own as the builder is now declaring personal bankruptcy. Bottom line and my question is; can any of the sub-contractors actually put a lien on my house? It is my understanding that they had an agreement (verbal only) with the contractor and not with me, and that more than 90 days has passed. Does this bar them from entering a mechanics lien on the property? Thanks for any help provided!


