Massachusetts  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/29/08, 7:38 pm

Legal Question


writs watch purchase

I purchsed a watch from a jewelery retail store on 11/15/08 for $175.00 and also purchased the $29.99 protection plan. I signed the receipt and the receipt had a stamp on it stating ''NO RETURN, EXCHANGE ONLY THRU JAN 2nd''. The watch broke the first night I had it. The stainless steal band detached from the actual face part of the watch. I returned it and they gave me a new watch because they determined the original one I purchased could not be repaired. The same exact thing happened to the second watch. I obviously want to return it for a full refund. I have lost faith in the quality of the watch. I want to know if I am entitled to a full refund. Also, the back of the receipt also states under EXCHANGE POLICY -No Refunds, Exchange Only. Is there some law that protects consumers for defective products so that I can eceive a full refund, even the Terms and Conditions of the sale?

Note: I purchased the watch in Massachussetts, but I am a resident of Rhode Island.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search